Discover great EU-funded Innovations
Innovation Radar Prize

Since 2015 the European Commission has been awarding the annual Innovation Radar Prize to great EU-funded innovators, putting a spotlight on the high potential innovations they are trying to get ‘out of the lab and into the market’. Intelligence gathered by the Innovation Radar is used to identify innovators who can then compete for the prize.

The Innovation Radar Prize is now co-organised by the European Commission and, who also provide pitch preparation support to the finalists as well as wider support for achieving their market ambitions.

Innovation Radar Prize winners have also been featured several times in a special broadcast on Euronews (see 2021’s winner here on euronews).

The 2023 Innovation Radar Prize has been awarded
Overall 'Grand Prix' winner
Zymvol, an EU-funded biotech company based in Barcelona, is specialised in the design, development, and application of molecular modelling software to design and discover in a sustainable way new enzymes for the food, personal care and pharmaceutical industry.
Category winner
'Women-Led Innovation'
Mjn from Spain, won the 2023 Innovation Radar’s “Women-Led Innovation” prize category for their EU-funded wearable device designed to alert individuals living with drug-resistant epilepsy and their caregivers of a seizure from 1 to 3 minutes before it happens.
Category winner
'Sustainability Tech'
The Sustainability Tech award was assigned to Carbon Waters, an EU-funded tech company from France, for developing high-quality graphene-based liquid additives with enhanced performance, efficiency, and sustainability.
Category winner
'AI & Smart Devices'
InSilicoTrials Technologies from Italy won the AI & Smart Devices award for their EU-funded computational modeling and simulation platform based on Digital Twins and Biosimulation to optimize clinical trials in the pharma industry.
Previous Innovation Radar Prize winners
2022 Overall winner
In 2022, the overall winner was Nvision from Germany. They were awarded the Prize for their development of a hyperpolarisation platform which enhances the MRI signal of natural metabolites, enabling these safe molecules to be used as agents for imaging tumour metabolism via standard MRIs.
2021 Overall winner
In 2021, the overall winner was MetGen from Finland. They were awarded the Prize for their game-changing bio-based solution to replace petrochemical wax-based solutions currently used in cardboard packaging boxes.
2020 Overall winner
In 2020, the overall winner was Politechnika Wroclawska from Poland. They were awarded the Prize for their role in developing targeted nanoparticles-based cure for breast cancer. Their work was financed by the EU-funded 'Nanocargo' project.
2019 Overall winner
In 2019, the overall winner was SUPSI from Switzerland for their lead role in developing robotic tech capable of executing repair tasks in harsh industrial environments. They also won the prize for Women-led innovations, which recognises dynamic women developing and leading great innovations with EU-funding. This project is led by Anna Valente, the head of the Automation, Robotics and Machines Laboratory at SUPSI-DTI. Learn more about SUPSI’s innovation in this euronews feature.
2018 Overall winner
In 2018, the overall winner was Gr3n , a swiss company who invented a new process which allows for the first time to recycle PET bottles/food containers chemically in a profitable way. The objective is now to build the first pilot plant of the full de-polymerization process, designing and building a new reactor prototype but also embedding it within an optimized purification process. This will be the final step to then finalize the industrialization and bring to the market this revolutionary re-cycling solution.Learn more about Gr3n in this euronews feature.
2017 Overall winner
In 2017, the overall winner was CATEC , a Spanish Aviation research centre, for industrial drones they developed with EU funding. Their drones can not only allow "see" from the air, but also "touch and feel". The CATEC drones – which integrate a robotic arm, advanced software and state-of-the-art sensors - open up new possibilities for performing industrial inspections that require contact. Learn more about CATEC in this euronews feature.
2016 Overall winner
In 2016 the overall Innovation Radar prize was awarded to Intrinsic-ID , a Dutch SME, which developed a unique technology and has become a world leader in security systems. Their technology - authentication technology based on the electronic fingerprint of devices - was developed within the EU-funded project PUFFIN . Intrinsic ID are today selling this technology to customers around the world. Learn more about Intrinsic ID in this euronews feature.
2015 Overall winner
In 2015 the first ever Innovation Radar Prize was awarded to BroadBit , during the ICT 2015 event in Lisbon . Since then, BroadBit, an SME originally from Slovakia but now based in Finland, have raised additional finance to fund expansion and production of their innovative battery technology. Learn more about BroadBit in this euronews feature.
Innovation Radar Prize 2015 – 2022: The Jury
Since 2015, the finalists of the Innovation Radar Prize have pitched their innovations and their plans to get them 'out of the lab and into the market' to a jury composed of a panel of investors and entrepreneurs.
The members of the jury who have supported us on the journey are professionals with a track record in entrepreneurship, investment (e.g. Business Angels, or VCs) or experience in start-up accelerator communities. Former jury members for the Innovation Radar Prize include: